## **Reorganization Meeting January 2, 2018**

Mayor Lucia announced all newly elected officials were previously sworn earlier by Magisterial District Judge Roger Eckels and all Council, Tax Collector and Mayor may take their seats.

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Lucia at 8:29pm in Council Chambers at 1 Etze Avenue, Mount Pleasant, PA 15666. Mayor Lucia directed Borough Manager Landy to take roll. Councilwomen Bailey, Councilwoman Barnes, Councilman Cholock, Councilman McCloy, Councilman Yatsko, Councilman Rogacki, Councilwoman Ruzkowski, Councilwoman Stevenson and Councilman Caruso, Mayor Lucia and Solicitor Istik were present. The Pledge of Allegiance was said and there was a moment of silence for everything going on throughout the world.

# Matters of Business:

Mayor Lucia called for nominations and elections for President of Council. Councilwoman Barnes nominated Councilman Rogacki. Councilman McCloy nominated Councilman Caruso. Mayor Lucia called for a roll call vote for the nomination of Councilman John Rogacki for Council President:

No
Yes
No
No
Yes
No
No
No
No

The vote was 2 Yes and 7 No for the nomination of Councilman John Rogacki for Council President.

Mayor Lucia called for a roll call vote for the nomination of Councilman Jack Caruso for Council President:

Yes
No
Yes

Councilman Caruso was nominated and elected Council President by an 8 to 1 vote.

Mayor Lucia turned over the meeting to newly elected Council President Caruso.

President Caruso called for nominations for Vice-President of Council. Councilwoman Barnes nominated Councilman Rogacki. Councilman Stevenson nominated Councilwoman Diane Bailey. There were no other nominations. Council President Caruso called for a roll call vote for the nomination of Councilman John Rogacki for Council Vice-President:

Councilwoman Bailey	No
Councilwoman Barnes	Yes
Councilman Cholock	Yes
Councilman Yatsko	Yes
Councilman Rogacki	Yes
Councilwoman Ruzkowski	No
Councilwoman Stevenson	No
Councilman McCloy	Yes
President Caruso	Yes

The vote was 6 Yes and 3 No for the nomination of Councilman John Rogacki for Council Vice-President.

Councilman Rogacki was elected Council Vice-President.

President Caruso called for nominations for President Pro-Tem. Councilman Cholock nominated Councilwoman Bailey. There were no other nominations. Councilwoman Bailey was elected Council President Pro-Tem.

President Caruso welcomed newly elected Councilman Yatsko.

### **Appointment of Borough Officials:**

The following appointments will be made, if appointment is made without an objection, no second is required:

Appoint Deanna Istik as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor. No objections were made. Deanna Istik is appointed as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.

Retain McClure & Wolfe as Borough Auditor. No objections were made.

Retain Gibson Thomas Engineers as Waste Water Treatment Engineers by project. No objections were made.

Retain Hunt Valley Environment LLC as Storm Water/Grant Consultants. No objections were made.

Retain K-2 Engineering as Mount Pleasant Borough Building Inspectors. No objections were made.

Retain Mayor Gerald Lucia as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Gerald Lucia as Emergency Management Coordinator for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Corey Snyder and Marc Taylor as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinators for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Attorney Randy Klimchock as Solicitor of the Planning Commission for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Attorney Tim Witt as Solicitor of the Zoning Hearing Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Chairman of Public Safety Committee, Dennis Taylor and Beau Chatfield to the Civil Service Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Robert Regola as Government Consultant for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilman John Rogacki as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilman Fred McCloy as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Retain Councilwoman Bailey as Representative to the Library Board. No objections were made.

Retain Jeff Landy as Alternate Representative to the Library Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilwoman Susan Ruszkowski to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Caprice Mills as alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Jeff Landy as second alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint David Pritts as Chairman of the Vacancy Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Jeff Landy as Manager of the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Doug Sam as Police Chief of the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Objection made by Councilman McCloy. President Caruso called for a roll call vote to appoint Doug Sam as Police Chief of the Borough of Mount Pleasant:

Yes
Yes
Yes
No
Yes

Doug Sam was appointed as Police Chief of the Borough of Mount Pleasant with a vote of 8-1.

Appoint Jeff McGuiness as Street Department Crew Leader of the Borough of Mount Pleasant. Objection made by Councilwoman Barnes. President Caruso called for a roll call vote to appoint Jeff McGuinness as Street Department Crew Leader of the Borough of Mount Pleasant:

Councilwoman Bailey	Yes
Councilwoman Barnes	No
Councilman Cholock	Yes
Councilman McCloy	Yes
Councilman Yatsko	Yes
Councilman Rogacki	Yes
Councilwoman Ruzkowski	Yes
Councilwoman Stevenson	Yes
President Caruso	Yes

Jeff McGuinness was appointed as Street Department Crew Leader of the Borough of Mount Pleasant with a vote of 8-1.

Appoint Shane Nickelson as Waste Water Treatment Superintendent of the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

### **General Administrative Business:**

Adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Council Meeting procedure. No objections were made.

Designate President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund accounts. No objections were made.

Designate depositories of borough funds as PNC Bank, Standard Bank, Scottdale Bank & Trust, Somerset Trust Company and PLGIT. No objections were made.

President Caruso stated that beginning in 2018 the second meeting will strictly be a work session. No motions will be made or voted on unless an emergency situation arises.

#### Miscellaneous & Adjournment:

A motion was made by Councilman Rogacki to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Councilman Cholock. Motion carried 9-0.

#### Meeting Adjourned 9:05pm