Reorganization Meeting January 4, 2010

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Lucia at 7:48pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was said and a moment of silence was held for the deployed troops. Borough Manager Landy took the following roll call. Councilman Bauer, Beranek, Crivella, McCloy, Slater, Tate, President Tabita and Councilwomen Ruszkowski and Stevenson were present.

Magistrate Roger Eckels swore in the following newly elected Mount Pleasant Borough officials:

Gerald Lucia, Mayor Ronald Slater, Councilman Cynthia Stevenson, Councilwoman Susan Ruszkowski, Councilwoman Fred McCloy, Councilman Larry Tate, Councilman Carol Yancosky, Tax Collector

Matters of Business:

Mayor Lucia called for nominations for Council President. Councilman Tate nominated Councilman Bauer. Councilman Beranek nominated Councilman Tabita.

The following roll call vote was taken:

Councilman Bauer -Bauer Councilman Beranek -Tabita Councilman Crivella -Bauer Councilman McCloy -Bauer Councilwoman Ruszkowski Bauer Councilman Slater Tabita Councilwoman Stevenson Tabita Councilman Tate Bauer Councilman Tabita Tabita

Councilman Bauer was elected President by a 5-4 vote.

Mayor Lucia turned over the meeting to newly elected Council President Joe Bauer.

President Bauer thanked Council for his election. He also thanked Mayor Lucia, Councilman Tate and Councilman Tabita for all of their knowledge and help over the years.

President Bauer called for nominations for Vice-President of Council. Councilman McCloy nominated Councilman Beranek. There were no other nominations. President Bauer announced that Councilman Beranek is elected Vice-President of Council.

President Bauer called for nominations for President Pro Tem. Councilman Tate nominated Councilman Crivella. There were no other nominations. President Bauer announced that Councilman Crivella is elected President Pro Tem.

Appointment of Borough Officials:

President Bauer announced that there will be several appointments made and if an appointment is made without objection no second is required.

A motion to retain Jeffrey Landy as Mount Pleasant Borough Manager.

A motion to retain Mario Fontanazza as Mount Pleasant Borough Street Commissioner.

A motion to retain Stephen Ober as Mount Pleasant Borough Police Chief.

A motion to retain Norman Stout as Mount Pleasant Borough WWT Supervisor.

A motion to Retain Tucker Arensberg as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.

President Bauer introduced Attorney Fred Wolfe of Tucker Arensberg and asked him to take a seat up front. Mr. Wolfe thanked Council for the appointment.

A motion to retain Gibson-Thomas as the engineering firm for WWT.

A motion to hire McCormick Taylor Engineers and Planners as alternate Borough engineers for specific projects.

A motion to retain B.I.U. as Municipal Code Enforcement Officers for Mount Pleasant Borough.

A motion to retain Michele Premoshis to the position of Chairman of the Vacancy Board for Mount Pleasant Borough.

A motion to retain Mayor Gerald Lucia as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.

A motion to retain Gerald Lucia as Emergency Management Coordinator.

A motion to retain or Bob Ceroni and Marc Taylor as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinators.

Borough Appointments:

A motion to retain Mayor Lucia as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association.

A motion to retain Councilman Tate as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association.

A motion to retain Councilwoman Stevenson as Representative to the Library Board.

A motion to retain Jeffrey Landy as alternate Representative to the Library Board.

A motion to retain Councilman Tabita and Councilman Crivella to the Frick Communities Board.

A motion to retain Jeffrey Landy as alternate to the Frick Communities Board.

Council Committee Chair Appointments:

President Bauer said he will assign council committees at the work session on January 19, 2010.

General Administrative Business:

A motion to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for council meeting procedure.

A motion to designate President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund accounts.

A motion to designate depositories of Borough funds as PNC Bank, Standard Bank, First Niagara Bank and PLGIT.

Appointments to Boards and Authorities:

A motion to appoint Randy Klimchock as Solicitor for Planning Commission.

A motion to appoint William Steiner to Mount Pleasant Zoning Board.

A motion to appoint Bill George to Mount Pleasant Municipal Authority.

A motion to appoint Dale Walker to Mount Pleasant Parking Authority.

A motion to appoint Scott Caruso and Edmund Davis to Mount Pleasant Civil Service Board.

A motion to appoint George Wood to the Mount Pleasant Planning Commission.

President Bauer said that the Sign Ordinance in the re-codification has been changed to state that emergency type flashing lights or strobe lights are not allowed in businesses and some wording that was objected to by people who attended the public meeting has been eliminated.

Miscellaneous and Adjournment:

A motion was made by Councilman Tate to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Councilman Slater. Motion carried 8-0.

Meeting adjourned 8:09pm.