### **Reorganization Meeting January 7, 2008**

Magistrate Roger Eckels swore in the following newly elected Mount Pleasant Borough Council members:

Councilman Tabita, 1<sup>st</sup> Ward 4-year term Councilman Bauer, 2<sup>nd</sup> Ward 4-year term Councilman Beranek, 2<sup>nd</sup> Ward 4-year term Councilman Crivella, 3<sup>rd</sup> Ward 4-year term Councilwoman Rega, 2<sup>nd</sup> Ward 2-year term

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Lucia at 7:40pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was said and a moment of silence was held for the deployed troops. Borough Manager Landy took the following roll call. Councilman Bauer, Beranek, Crivella, Slater, Wiltrout, Tabita and Councilwomen Stevenson and Rega were present. Solicitor Toohey is present.

### Matters of Business:

Mayor Lucia called for nominations for Council President. Councilman Crivella nominated Councilman Tabita. Nomination seconded by Councilwoman Stevenson. There were no other nominations. Mayor Lucia announced that Councilman Tabita is elected as Council President.

Mayor Lucia called for nominations for Council Vice-President. Councilman Slater nominated Councilman Bauer. Nomination seconded by Councilman Crivella. There were no other nominations. Mayor Lucia announced that Councilman Bauer is elected as Council Vice President.

Mayor Lucia called for nominations for President Pro Tem. Councilman Bauer nominated Councilman Tate. There were no other nominations. Mayor Lucia announced that Councilman Tate is elected as President Pro Tem.

Mayor Lucia turned over the meeting to President Tabita.

President Tabita announced that there will be several appointments made and if an appointment is made without objection no second is required.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to retain Jeffrey Landy as Mount Pleasant Borough Manager.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to retain Attorney John Toohey as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.

A motion was made by Councilman Ron Slater to retain Widmer Engineering as the engineering firm for Mount Pleasant Borough.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to retain Central Westmoreland Council of Governments as Municipal Code Enforcement Officers for Mount Pleasant Borough.

Mayor Lucia explained the position of the Chairman of the Vacancy Board as the person who becomes a member of council if Council cannot reach an agreement on an appointment to a vacant council seat.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to appoint Peggy Mullen to the position of Chairman of the Vacancy Board for Mount Pleasant Borough.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to retain Mayor Gerald Lucia as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to retain Mayor Gerald Lucia as Emergency Management Coordinator. A motion was made by Councilman Slater to retain Marc Taylor and Bob Ceroni as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinators.

## **Borough Appointments:**

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to retain Mayor Gerald Lucia as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to retain Councilman Larry Tate as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to retain Councilwoman Stevenson as Representative to the Library Board.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to appoint Borough Manager Landy as alternate Representative to the Library Board.

# **General Administrative Business:**

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Council meeting procedure.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to designate Council President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund bank accounts.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to designate depositories of Borough funds as PNC Bank, Standard Bank, National City Bank, and PLGIT.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to affirm Council Meetings as advertised.

### **Appointments to Boards and Authorities:**

A motion was made by Councilwoman Stevenson to appoint Susan Ruzskowski to a 5year term on the Mount Pleasant Zoning Board.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Jim Sebek to a 5-year term on the Mount Pleasant Municipal Authority.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Al Maida to a 5-year term on the Mount Pleasant Parking Authority.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Scott Caruso to a 2-year term on the Mount Pleasant Civil Service Board.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Councilman Bauer to a 4-year term on the Mount Pleasant Civil Service Board.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to appoint Leo Wisniewski to a 3-year term on the Mount Pleasant Business District Authority.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Nino Barsotti to a 3-year term on the Mount Pleasant Business District Authority.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Sherri Wingrove to a 3-year term on the Mount Pleasant Business District Authority.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Attorney James Michael as Solicitor to the Mount Pleasant Planning Board.

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Attorney Nat Abromson as Solicitor to the Mount Pleasant Zoning Board.

A motion was made by Councilman Crivella to appoint Kevin McFeaters to a 4-year term on the Mount Pleasant Planning Board

A motion was made by Councilman Slater to appoint Jonathan Kiral to a 4-year term on the Mount Pleasant Planning Board.

Councilman Crivella asked President Tabita if all of the signators on the bank accounts for the Borough are bonded and President Tabita said yes along with the Borough Manager and Secretary.

President Tabita read a letter from Susan Ruszkowski thanking Council for the opportunity to serve as a councilperson. President Tabita said it was a pleasure having Susan on Council and appreciates the time she served.

A motion was made by Councilman Bauer to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Councilman Slater. Motion carried 8-0.

Meeting adjourned 8:00pm

Notes for 2010: "Nominations are closed" Retain WWT Supervisor, Street Supervisor and Police Chief